Travel

I’d like to make note of the fact that there is a discrepancy, for now, between the date I’ve posted something and the date I actually wrote it. Today’s post, for example, is dated June 27, even though I am posting it on Aug. 20. Part of the reason for that is that I am making a big shift here from academic writing, which allows me much time for multiple edits and reflections before anyone actually reads it, and blog writing, which has an immediacy and fast pace that I will need to learn to live with. I’ve actually written quite a few days worth of posts already, but I am rolling them out with this two-month time delay. For now. Eventually I’ll get used to the pace needed for blog-writing, and you will notice that the discrepancy of dates will disappear.

June 27, 2013

I think travel provides a great opportunity for learning. Even relatively short trips, if they are to someplace outside of your normal routine, can give you surprising new understandings. Today, for example, E and I drove to the Berkshires in western Massachusetts. We’ve been through the Berkshires several times, but we’ve never stopped and spent any time there. I learned that this area is rich in arts and culture. On the drive over here, I learned that it is most definitely strawberry season. (Every few miles there was another pick-your-own strawberry farm in full operation.) During the next few days I’ll be chronicling our journey. I hope it is full of adventure and new things to discover.

Just before heading for the Berkshires in June, 2013

Just before heading for the Berkshires in June, 2013

Leave a Reply

