Learning on the Road

June 28, 2013

The day began with a little reading of Luke 2:41-52. So here’s young, 12-year-old Jesus on an annual trip to Jerusalem for the Passover Feast. Mom and dad head for home at the end of the party, and they assume JC is with family and friends. It takes them a day of travel to discover otherwise (what!?), and they turn back and spend three more days anxiously looking for him. When they find him, he is with the teachers! Yay for teachers! He’s spent this time learning from them, asking questions, and giving answers. Everyone is amazed by his answers. I wonder what questions he was asking? I wonder what answers he was giving? I wonder what amazed everyone about his answers. What would it have been like to be one of those teachers? Imagine this: the Lord of the universe has chosen to turn up as a 12-year-old boy in your class. You have no idea who he really is, but you’re amazed by his answers. If I were one of those teachers, would I have had any clue in whose presence I found myself? I doubt it. It makes me think more about who it is that we have in our classes on a day-to-day basis.

So, on to the events of the day. In a small town here in the Berkshires there is a relatively small number of people who make a lot of money. No really; I mean a ton of money! Today I learned that all the paper used in US currency is made by a single paper manufacturer in Dalton, MA – the Crane Company. They’ve been in business since 1801, and they also make “fine” stationary. They employ fewer than 1000 people. So these several hundred people make all the paper for all the paper money you’ve ever held. If I worked there, I wouldn’t be able to resist telling people I make more money than they do!

IMG_1915

We spent the day touring around. In the morning we found Ashmere Lake, and I kayaked. We went to see the village of Lenox, stopping by at the small farmer’s market. At a shop in town, E was able to buy a nice leather bag. In the evening we enjoyed grilled chicken and a fire before it started to rain again. So far, about 99% of the rain we’ve experienced has been at night while we are cozy and dry in our camper.

IMG_1737

Leave a Reply

