What Brings us Together … Today

There are two reasons I spent most of today reflecting on love and marriage. First, today is the day some very special people I know are celebrating 66 years since they were married.

Image

Image

That’s enough to make any thinking person reflective. Congratulations to the two of them! I wish they could have spent the day in a place they would have enjoyed more.

The other reason I was reflective on this topic is that this is the annual girls’ outing in the Adirondacks. This is the one weekend a year when E leaves me and gets some girl time. Let’s face it, when your spouse is gone for the weekend, you notice.

When E and I met, we were both very young. We didn’t know this, of course, and when our parents told us this, we surely thought they were mistaken. We certainly believed we were mature enough to know whether or not we loved each other. I was so young I wasn’t really very aware of most of my faults and character flaws. I was so moonstruck by E that I surely didn’t think she had any faults or character flaws. Fast forward forty years, and I can assure you that we are both well aware of our own and each others’ shortcomings. I am painfully aware that I am not the lovable, fun-loving, easy-going, clever fellow that I thought I was way back then. She knows this too.

So, what’s to be learned about love and marriage through reflections on a day like this? Since the love-blindness of a young love does not last forever, a substitution is needed. It seems to me that the important thing is the daily decisions. We may not be moonstruck, but we can be intentional.

Image

I also think that’s what I see today in that handsome couple in those photos from 1945.

One thought on “What Brings us Together … Today

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words. Indeed, especially when illness strikes, you realize more than ever how much you are blessed. We are grateful for each day we are still allowed to be still with each other. I wish those same blessings for all in our family, when we started our long journey together we never imagined the scope of the blessings we would eventually receive!

Leave a Reply

