Access

If you stop and think about it, a person’s time may be his or her most valuable possession. Consider being able to spend time with an important person, and it becomes a bit more clear. Access to the time of an important person is controlled and usually difficult for people to obtain. The more important a person is, the more restricted is my access to their time. I can get an hour of my boss’s time by requesting it. I can get an hour of the college president’s time, but I’d better have an awfully good reason, or the next time I ask I probably won’t get it. I can’t get an hour of the governor’s time. Forget about getting even a minute of time alone with the President of the USA. See what I mean?

In light of this, consider the meaning of this very simple and short verse that I was meditating on this morning. John 3:22 – “After this, Jesus and his disciples went out into the Judean countryside, where he spent some time with them…”

Wow.

I wonder how much time he spent with them?

I wonder what they did? Did they play games? Did they joke around? Did they just sit and listen to him teach? It doesn’t matter. Probably they did all sorts of things.

I like the use of the word “spent.” He spent some time with them. It was a resource, an asset, a possession of his and he spent it on them.

I like the fact that it doesn’t say they spent some time with him. (I often am faced with guilt that I don’t spend enough time with Jesus.) The emphasis is on what Jesus decided to give to his disciples, not on what they decided to give to him. He gave them access to himself, and he was, arguably, the most important person the world has ever known or will ever know. What a gift!

One thought on “Access

Leave a Reply

