Blame it on Sochi

To my readers and blogfans: my apologies. I haven’t written anything here in days and days. Why not? In a word: Olympics. I’ve been fascinated, daily, by the Olympic coverage, and I just haven’t been able to find the time to write.

Image

I can remember watching the Olympics, dating back to the 1968 games in Grenoble, France. At that time, I was inspired by skier Jean-Claude Killy, who became my hero.

Image

Many years I have had a ho-hum response to the games, but for some reason, this year, I was transfixed.

 

I’m not a big fan of figure skating or curling, but almost everything else captures my interest. For some reason I can feel the tension, the anxiety, the hopes and dreams – as well as the “thrill of victory and the agony of defeat” of our USA pride and joy.

 

So, thank you to Ted Ligety, Mikaela Schiffrin, Maddie Bowman, Bode Miller, Julia Mancuso, Steven Holcomb, David Wise, and all the rest. It’s been a great ride! U-S-A!!

 

 And now that it’s over, probably you’ll be finding more posts from me as I continue to learn day-by-day.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blame it on Sochi

  1. Killy was under enormous pressure to win gold in his home country in 1968.I remember watching him come through for his people and winning 2 gold medals.It was very exciting.Thanks for bringing him up,Dr.Schwartz.

Leave a Reply

