Questioning and Wondering and Growth

Do you ever find yourself doubting something that you learned a long time ago? Or, to look at it another way, do you always assume that the most basic and fundamental things that you’ve learned are true? Or do you constantly question and wonder about things? I admit that I’m a questioner and a wonderer.

 

Today I was cutting up a large branch that broke off our peach tree last summer. This branch was about 6” in diameter at its base. As I was sawing through it I was wondering what I would find inside, in terms of growth rings. I planted this tree about six years ago, and at the time it was literally just a stick. I remember it was about three feet tall and no larger in diameter than one of my fingers. Now, six years later I was sawing through a 6-inch diameter log. I found it hard to believe that there would be only 6 growth rings in this thing. I’ve sawed through lots of 6-inch diameter logs in my lifetime, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen one that size that had only six growth rings. So I was wondering what I would find.

Image

I must not have been thinking very clearly, because I was sure I’d find more than six growth rings.

 

But no. My elementary science teachers turned out to be right again. Inside were six rings, exactly as it should be. They were really fat rings, because this tree grew very quickly, but there were definitely six of them. You can probably count them for yourself in this picture:

Image

I feel a little silly that I doubted that there would be six rings. But, on the other hand, I do believe you see more in life when you question and wonder about things. So, I’m going to keep on questioning and wondering, about even the most basic things. I think that’s a formula to keep on learning. Which is what this blog is all about, after all.

 

Leave a Reply

