Alone

(This was written on Friday, May 23.)

Life gets noisy and busy. There are times when, by the time evening comes, all I can do is sit and stare into space. Then it’s time to fall into bed and start again the next day.

Image

So, when an opportunity presents itself to gain some solitude and some time to just sit and think quietly, I take that as a gift.

 

I have decided to spend a couple of days doing just that in a camping spot in the Finger Lakes area of New York that few people seem to know about. There are about 9 or 10 campsites that can accommodate RV’s. You have to bring in your own water. There is no electricity, and there are no showers or flush toilets. As I say, not many people come here. It’s quiet here. There are miles of hiking trails, and there are stocked trout ponds.

Image

Mostly there is an opportunity to sit and quietly reflect.

 

I’ve been thinking about the fact that I seem to need quiet times like this. I haven’t noticed that many other people seek out or need quiet, reflective times. I’m wondering about that. I’m also thinking about my grandchildren. The fact that we now have a newborn baby girl (Reagan Noelle) as our sixth grandchild is a cause for celebration as well as a cause for reflection.

 

So, yes – I need quiet times for reflection. But I also need times when the house is full of the noise, disorder, and pure joy of grandchildren delighting in life together. It will be nice to have some solitude for a few days, but it will also be nice to get back to the family when I get back.

One thought on “Alone

  1. Amen! We look forward to seeing you back at RJ. I am also looking forward to contemplation while sitting and waiting for a fish to bite – have not had a chance yet this year.

Leave a Reply

