Music and More Music

Dateline: July 17, Thursday

Day 1 of Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival

 

There is much more that I could write about today than what people would actually want to take the time to read. The performances began at 11:00AM and continued non-stop until well past midnight. Most of the bands we listened to were new to us, and the program book gave us background information on each of them. But rather than simply provide a concert review, I’ll focus on my intentional learning today.

Grey Fox Lawn Chairs

Before the performances began, I decided that today was a good day to learn to play a new song. Mountain Faith is a gospel, bluegrass band that I discovered last summer. I decided that today was the day to really learn one of their songs, “Living Water.” So, I took out the laptop, the earbuds, and the guitar, and began to work on it. In this festival environment it isn’t unusual to see people sitting around playing their instruments, so I was not out of place sitting outside with all this equipment. I listened to the song repeatedly, writing down the lyrics and matching up guitar chords to them. Then I worked on practicing it for a while. (Just to be clear – Mountain Faith was not here at the festival. I was just working on their song while I was at our campsite.)

Mountain Faith

Mountain Faith

Here’s the song (with chords):

Living Water

A

The woman came to the well

D

She met Jesus there

E

He said “I know your trouble,

A

from the burden that you bear

 

You come draw a drink

D

that will not satisfy.

E

But I’ve got something better,

A

A drink that never will run dry

                                            E

Come drink the living water

                         A

Never thirst again

                                       E

Let it spread like a fountain

                                 A

Let it flow from within.

A

Dear soul are you wandering

D

in a dry desert place?

E

His cup is overflowing

A

Come drink from it today.

 

refrain

instrumental

refrain

 

You can listen to it on their website. You’ll see “Living Water,” and you can listen to a sample of the song for free.)

Leave a Reply

