It’s Been One Year!

I started posting in this blog a year ago. I don’t think it would be overstating things to say that blogging has been a life-changing experience. There are a number of different perspectives that I could comment on to describe what I’ve learned from blogging. Since I recently learned the word “listicle,” I’ll try my hand at writing what I’ve learned in list form:

 

The Top-Ten Things I’ve Learned from Blogging:

  1. Having a goal of writing “daily” is a totally unrealistic goal for me. WordPress tells me I have created 163 posts in this year. That’s well short of even an every-other-day posting.
  2. The intentionality of looking for what I’m learning every day has been tremendously positive. I strongly encourage everyone to do this.
  3. The difference between learning something new every day and writing about what I’m learning – in a way that others will actually want to read it – is huge. Lots of times the things I’m learning are only important to me. There is no way to make them audience-worthy.
  4. Blogging is all that I hoped it would be in terms of getting me engaged in 21st-century skills. I’ve had to grapple with issues of audience, relevance, appropriateness, having a public presence, and so on.
  5. The issue of “audience” is something that is constantly with me. When I write what I am interested in, I’m constantly wondering if others will find it to be interesting. I also sometimes find myself wondering if some of my readers are secretly being critical of me – both for what I am writing as well as what I’m not writing – that they think I should be writing.
  6. It has been surprising to me to discover how the people around me (family as well as co-workers) can be impacted by what I write. I’ve had to self-censor much of what I could have written because it would expose people around me to the public light – without their approval or even their knowledge of it.
  7. People seem to really enjoy reading about travel. I also really enjoy writing about travel. I wonder what it is about travel that makes it a popular thing to read about?
  8. I’ve heard from people that the posts are better with pictures – the more pictures the better. I wonder why that is?
  9. I’ve been very surprised by people’s reactions when I’ve written something fictional. To me, those posts have been blatantly fictional, with no attempt at subtlety. And yet, it has been evident that some readers were not aware that they were fictional. That’s a little scary when I stop to think about the implications.
  10. Some things that I would like to have written about would have required taking pictures during a complicated activity or process. (Such as fixing something or solving a problem.) I have become more aware than ever before that the people who post such things online are doing a great service.

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Been One Year!

  1. I can’t believe it’s been a year already.I remember you talking about this when we were in Tenn. I really am enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

